Three shadows of Jupiter’s moons on Jupiter

The clouds decreased, starting out with breaks in the overcast, becoming scattered with the winter stars visible by 1:30am this morning. I found the only location at my house where I could see Jupiter around the trees and plopped down my 8inch dob. I used 80, 160x, and 400x just to get the image larger.
 
The only detail visible on Jupiter was the two main belts and, from time to time, the shadows of the moons, and of course, the moons themselves and two background stars.
 
For a while, Jupiter was only visible for a few moments, followed by longer periods of being obscured by cloud. Jupiter’s edges were wavy much of the time from 12:45am (when I found Jupiter) to about 1:15.  At first, I could not separate Io and Europa.
 
 Calisto’s shadow was easiest. Io’s could be briefly imagined against the dark belt. Europa’s was barely visible on and off.  As the skies cleared, I could follow Calisto’s shadow as it moved off the edge of the planet. Reminded me of the transit of Venus, at much smaller scale, but I guess because of the similar placement, near the upper edge of Jupiter/Sun.
 
Toward 1:30, as the skies cleared and the view improved somewhat and the moons, esp. Io and Europa had shifted somewhat, the view became very 3D.
 
Astro Bob’s blog http://astrobob.areavoices.com/ has a diagram of where the shadows and the moons were.
Leave a Reply

